Once the home of grazing buffalo and Tonkawa Indians, this county’s history is varied and unique. In 1839, when Austin was selected as the Capital of the Republic of Texas, Dr. Thomas Kenney built a fort on Brushy Creek (present day Round Rock). In 1848, the area became Williamson County with Georgetown being established as the county seat.
In 150 years, the county has grown from rural farms and small pioneer settlements to modern urban developments on the cutting edge of the computer industry. Along the way, the citizens lived though wars, floods, tornado and the Great Depression but they learned to rebuild and go forward.
Early days alon the Chisholm Trail, farming was the most common livelihood and “cotton was king”. Early settlements were Brushy Creek/Round Rock, Georgetown, Liberty Hill, Bagdad, Pond Springs, Florence and Circleville.
Schools and churches were built as soon as settlers arrived. The early Swedish settlers made a dramatic impact, especially at Palm Valley.
As Williamson County Sesquicentennial comes to a close, the residents look forward to the 21st Century with appreciation to those pioneers who led the way.